unstuck, sort of

So, I have been whining ALOT the past few weeks about how stuck I am, and I can’t seem to concentrate on any “real” work. I didn’t sleep Monday night, I am beginning to be in a state of constant panic about not having work finished for upcoming deadlines, especially my two shows this summer.  First I started a new blog for my teaching posts, they just don’t fit here anymore, and  seriously sleep deprived last night I just started playing around with an idea that has been lurking in the back of my mind…

I used this wicker material when I was creating the “hoop” skirt for one of the new panels, it was a freebie and had obviously been wound up for many years, I needed to soak it to get it to cooperate with me, but any way, when I was unrolling it it made these really nice spirals and I wished I had a way to use them. Then this past week a large limb came down out of a tree in the garden and I wanted to do something with it. I kept thinking chrysalis/cocoon. So last night I decided to try making a small branch-wicker cocoon object. I didn’t get far, I’m going to work on it some more right now, but here is the beginning of …

well honestly I’m not sure what, but it feels like something that might unstick me!

dsci0031

5 thoughts on “unstuck, sort of

  1. Hey, don’t beat yourself up! Just make things, the rest will follow, right? Don’t worry about “the big idea” and enjoy making whatever you want to regardless of whether or not it’s real work or not. Have fun!

  2. I know, I am always telling my students to listen to their materials, and here I am trying to force mine… the little cocoon thing is coming along…

  3. For me the work goes in different stages of commitment – sometimes I really don’t want to do it, but I’ve tried to arrange life as much as possible so that I can always make stuff, regardless of whether it’s a painting or a sculpture. It can be difficult. I feel for you.

    Now get to work! : )

  4. I’m always working! Just usually it’s much more mundane stuff… cleaning, laundry, cooking, shopping, art has to squeeze in the gaps! But it is coming along, and thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

