not much to report

Still struggling with the daily grind until the end of the month, and that spurt of enthusiasm born of my decision to quit has long since flickered out. So I have just been puttering in the studio, willing the door to my creativity shut, or at least only ajar until the end of the month. There is a little news to share however…

First the local library procured a copy of a book I have been dying to read

Scrapbooks: An American History

by  Ms. Jessica Helfand

I was hoping that reading it would cure me of my desire to own it… no such luck!! I guess it will just have to stay on my amazon wish list after all. If you haven’t seen it, it is absolutely worth a look, especially for all you ephemera collectors out there. I used to keep scrapbooks as a kid, I spent hour cutting and pasting, I still have a few of them, my favorite is from a trip I took to Southern Ireland to attend an international scout jamboree when I was 14 or 15. Maybe I’ll scan a few pages next time there’s no news from the studio!

This seems a good moment to plug Seth over at the Altered page who will be hosting a sort of online book guild for art lovers every sunday on his blog. In his words “The Book Guild will meet every Sunday, rain or shine. So stop by to be introduced to a whole new library of art-related books. The Guild will be more than just a list however. There will be links, book reviews, giveaways, and interviews with many of your favorite authors. And I promise you that there will be some major events that are guaranteed to knock your handmade socks off!!” I’ll be there for sure, hope to see many of you there too!

Then Lawendula over at Woven Letters posted an update on the one he(art) one tribe tree, you can see it here, all the bags are still hanging in there (excuse the pun!!). Also today I got the news that the collage box is finally on its way to me, so Seth, if you are reading this, I’m dying here!!

Lastly, a local plug, for a small press book fair that I am dragging my poor hubby to this Saturday. I’ll report in on what I see and no doubt purchase! Hope anyone living close enough will take a trip to check it out. While I’m in Buffalo I’ll also be stopping by the WNY Book Arts Center to try and not buy paper!!!

Now I’m off to teach perspective drawing to my evening class, wish me luck

5 thoughts on “not much to report

  1. hey you. hang in there….you will be free enough and then have a whole new set of problems 😉 seriously just a week left, that aint long!!!!

  2. Keep yourself open to let your imagination run free. Before you said “I don’t” to your employer, you must have been filled to your brim with art projects and ideas that you were overwhelmed with that you wish you had the time to do. Reflect on those thoughts- on what you wish you were doing instead of teaching, and be joyous that the magical time which you’ve envisioned is almost here. Maybe you’re a little frightened of the open time you will have. I have confidence that you’ll fill it up in no time! Thinking of you!

  3. Jill thanks, just getting to spring break is taking all my energy right now, I could just sleep standing up!! but then it will be OK. Actually I just got a teaching offer for part of the summer, so that rocks!!

Leave a Reply

