diversions

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SO… I had planned to spend the whole day in the studio today, but the universe had other plans… I am going to a festival in Johnsonburg, PA this weekend and my inventory of book works is very low, I thought I would spend the day relaxing and making more books.

First I had to drive my son to work, and on the way my brand new truck got a flat. So I had to wait to be rescued… (I know that’s pathetic, but there is no way my back can handle changing a tire) and then after I had taken him to work with the spare on, I had to drop the truck off at the dealership for a new tire (which meant I had to go back and pick it up later) and then later in the day, I had to go and fetch my son back from work. Basically I got nothing done until after 5pm. The one book I had started in the morning went disastrously wrong, probably because I was stressed out!

Then things got better… the kids (well I guess really they are adults now) went out to a restaurant to play trivia, so I didn’t have to make dinner, and I headed up to the studio with some coffee and got some great work done šŸ™‚ Here’s some pictures, just in case you are out and about and want to do some shopping this weekend.

12 thoughts on “diversions

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your kind words. šŸ™‚ You have some great book art here! I’m dabbling in a little book making myself. Good luck at the festival!

  2. hi deb –
    I just received your comment! I’m so glad to hear you have a class to work with – i almost wish i could get a group of kids together and teach the lessons…

    so thank you x 100 for this and I am going to add your blog to my list of blogs to visit, because i love book arts but i don’t have time to stroll through your posts here…. i will be back!

    look forward to hearing more as your butterflies start to ‘unfold’!! ;0)

    we now have a member in the group that is in houston and will be our official liason with the holocaust museum!

    trudi

  3. My, you have been busy! These books are wonderful; you can’t mean that you made all of these in one evening? I’m just itching to learn how to make books- soon, I hope. Good luck at the festival, and have fun!

    • actually I made all of them in one afternoon/evening… some were partly started and just needed to be finished. I have a habit of getting things about 2/3 of the way through and then losing interest, so so days I just go through and finish up. The first book in the slide show was started from scratch that day, as were a couple of the others…

  4. Wow — didn’t know you were heading to Johnsonburg — I grew up in Ridgway, PA, just down the river. Sorry that the start of the year was so rough on you!

    • my classes are fine… I have some fantastic students, I just have two large pieces to finish in less than two weeks for exhibitions… but I managed to get some work done tonight so I am feeling a little more optimistic than I was!!

Leave a Reply

