and so it goes

It has been a long emotional day. It started sleep deprived and very early, our new kitten thinks I should get up at the same time to feed and play with her – she doesn’t know its spring break so I want to sleep in. As I was up I decided to grade some rough drafts, they have to be graded at some point. What a relief to find they were actually much better than I had expected!

Then I checked in online. Louise from the Artist Book Collective included a picture of my book on her post today. One of the great things about the internet is how it has miraculously brought such amazing people and opportunities into my creative life. And Lou has been the inspiration behind my new bindings, it was her call for work that finally spurred me to take the idea out of my sketchbook and actually start playing around with it – so GLAD that happened.

Then I saw this link to an article and some great video from the small press book fair. I think the video gives you a really good feeling for the energy and the amazing amount of NOISE in that space, still I enjoy it more every year and wouldn’t miss it! Thanks to all ay WNYBAC for sharing that!

Then the news came – I didn’t make it to the next round of interviews. I was pretty crushed, but mostly I felt as if I had let my poor hubby down again. He was so excited about the possibility of a new start, and then it was gone. I have to believe that the universe has something better waiting out there for me, but in the meantime I am a bit disappointed and still worried about our financial situation. I know worrying won’t change anything, or make me feel better but it seems it is just my nature.

So I retreated to my studio, I have been working on something for a call for work Seth posted over on his blog, related to his wonderful new book. I can’t post any pictures as I want him to be the first to see it. Maybe if I am pleased with it I will post pictures later.

So now it is late, I have been up too long. I am drained and a little sad. I have my art and a room of my own. I am loved. It WILL all come out right in the end. So goodnight.

10 thoughts on “and so it goes

  1. It will all work itself out and you will find a way, you always do, and in the meantime you have a whole lot of people who love and care for you who are here to support you!

  2. It will all work itself out, you’ll find a way, you always do, and in the meantime you have a whole lot of people who love and care for you who are here to support you!

  3. So sorry for the tough day. Bleeecccch. Glad you have worked on some 5x5s for The Pulse Project. Hopefully making some art has helped you to feel better!

  4. That’s harsh news, always. I think your work is pretty miraculous. πŸ™‚ I hope the rest of your weekend is healing and strengthening for you.

    • Thanks – really I am Ok, had a bit of a cry and then just went on with my life. I really have to believe that there is something else out there waiting for me. And thanks for taking the time to post – a support network makes all the difference on days like these

Leave a Reply

