Andy Goldsworthy Joy!

Every spring I look forward to the last week of the term because I take my sculpture class outside to play. As an added bonus today it was almost 80, perfect weather to get out of the classroom and experiment with the formal possibilities of the natural world. As usual while the students were working I puttered a bit. Here’s what I came up with, this was the highest I managed to get – the work collapsed 4 times. I never was able to figure out exactly what combination of packing and weaving to use to fill the whole space. Maybe next time. It was just what I needed, some fresh air and a fresh set of physical problems to solve!

Leave a Reply

