on the bench

Image

A short while ago I received a phone call from a friend who had received a gift in a great bag and she wanted me to turn it into a book. So I did – here it is!!

Image

Also in envelope with the bag when it arrived in the post was this little flag from a boat she hoped I would also be able to turn into a book somehow. I was still thinking about it when Esther Smith posted an image of a binding using a Portuguese stem stitch. I thought the little knots looked sort of nautical so I figured I would give it a try.

Image

I think the original example used a link stitch, but as I only just learned how to do the “original” I wasn’t quite ready to try and figure out how to combine the two, and I couldn’t sort out how to make the knots all go in the same direction; so I decided to do the binding in single rows, beginning at the tail of each signature. I think the end result was kind of cute.

Image

Let’s hope the client loves them too.

One thought on “on the bench

  1. Pingback: 131: Artistry – Dalí’s Inspiration and Chihuly’s Installations, among others. | Almofate's Likes

Leave a Reply

