missing… the trials & triumphs of an art-filled life.

I haven’t been blogging much lately – not because I have nothing to say (never gonna happen!) but because I have been busy doing – living an art filled life. So many opportunities have come my way and I am finding it hard to fit everything in. And then when I sit down to blog, there is so much to fill you in on I find myself unable to start. So this week I decided to try and get back to three weekly posts – one about current goings-on, art & studio & life etc, a wordless Wednesday post from the studio, and then a “throwback” post where I attempt to document some things I have been up to in recent months. I hope this is really plausible, I miss my blog, which I really started as a way to create a document of my studio/life. To make a record of the trials and triumphs of an art-filled life.

So then – what am I up to THIS week. Well – that obsession with sewing on leaves has developed further – as everyone I (barely) know keeps sending me more & more examples of other artists who sew on leaves. Like this artist – Hillary Fayle or this one, or this one. What I have discovered is an intense love of “needle lace”, and I have been spending hours reading old embroidery manuals. So many of these are available online through digitized archives, like Project Gutenberg, which has a crafts bookshelf! – the only draw back is that the pictures are often hard to see clearly on the scans. I am a pretty intuitive embroiderer – I can figure things out better from the pictures than from the instructions sometimes. I find it easier to let my hands do the thinking! This interest in needle lace has sparked a whole slew of new project ideas – and I find realjob is really getting in the way of progress! Here are a few pictures, These are just experiments as I try out new techniques.

 

beginning a needle lace bar on a magnolia leaf

beginning a needle lace bar on a magnolia leaf

magnolia leaf with needle lace bars

magnolia leaf with needle lace bars

needle lace on a grape leaf - supported by hand made paper

needle lace on a grape leaf – supported by hand made paper

Also I am curating another show – woven, sewn & pressed. I will post more about that next week as I start to install the work, and tell you all about the artists in that show. in the meantime, thanks to everyone for your patience. And please come back later this week to catch up on the last few crazy months.

and now back to some sewing – tonight a book from antique fabric remnants – catch up to you all later in the week!

 

4 thoughts on “missing… the trials & triumphs of an art-filled life.

  1. Bethany – I like that it is full of opportunities, but I also don’t want to forget all the great things by not recording them, so I will have them when things are not so great.

Leave a Reply

