Snowflake

First time back in the studio really getting down to work. A while ago I started a series of snowflake inspired bindings. Yesterday I finally started another in the series.

image

I start out drawing on graph paper. All the snowflakes are being adapted from some illustrations of black work borders.

image

Next I copy that design onto a piece of graph paper mounted on some card stock.

image

Then I start sewing. As I go I write out the steps. Once I have figured out how to sew the pattern I make a book block. Cutting, folding and punching the signatures always seems to take forever! This design has 21 signatures! I draw a scale pattern of the binding to help punch the right holes in the right signature.

image

I bind the top and bottom to hold the tension even as I sew the design. Here I used a french link with a kettle on either side over a translucent ribbon with a little sparkle. Sometimes I use coloured thread for this stage, but I wanted to keep the focus on the snowflake for this one.

image

Here’s the sewing finished.

image

I have been trying to make bolder choices with my colours and patterns, to make things less “matchy”. The last step is glueing the covers and ribbons down.
About 8 hours later it is all done!
Feels good to add a new pattern to my repertoire. My goal is to draw them all up and publish them for others to use over summer break this year.

8 thoughts on “Snowflake

  1. The snowflake design is gorgeous! And, I am definitely interested in purchasing your blackwork directions when they are available.

Leave a Reply

